Listen Live

WASHINGTON–Republicans and Democrats in Congress now have a commonality, though it’s not in their ideals. Russia announced this week that 398 members of Congress are being sanctioned, including all nine Indiana representatives.

“These individuals, including the leadership and committee chairmen of the lower house of the U.S. Congress, are placed on the Russian ‘stop list’ on a permanent basis,” said the Russian Foreign Ministry in a press release.

“Yesterday, Russia sanctioned me along with 397 other Representatives. I am proud to stand with Ukraine against Putin’s savage, unprovoked invasion of their country. I will continue to fight to protect the sovereignty of the Ukrainian people,” responded Rep. Larry Bucshon, a Republican, in a Thursday Tweet.

Democrat Andre Carson published a screenshot of his name from the Russian press release.

“I’ve been sanctioned by Russia for opposing Putin’s baseless attack on Ukraine, and I couldn’t be prouder!,” he Tweeted.

Republican Jim Baird had a similar reaction.

Just found out that I was sanctioned by Russia. Putin’s attacks on Ukraine have shown us the very worst of humanity, & by contrast, the courage & fortitude of Ukrainians have shown us the very best. As an American, I’m proud to stand w/ Ukraine, & I see this as a badge of honor,” he Tweeted.

The list also includes Republicans Victoria Spartz, Jackie Walorski, Jim Banks, Trey Hollingsworth and Greg Pence, and Democrat Frank Mrvan.

Russia is essentially sanctioning the members of Congress in response to U.S. sanctions against members of Russia’s legislature announced in late March.

Russia also plans to expand its list of people who are banned from entering Russia.