Listen Live

Proponents of subverting the Electoral College and electing the U.S. President by the national popular vote lost a major battle Monday. The U.S. Supreme Court ruled 9-0 to uphold state laws requiring those chosen for the Electoral College to back the popular winner in their state’s presidential race.

In 2016, 10 of the 538 presidential electors went rogue, attempting to vote for someone other than their pledged candidate. In all, 32 states and the District of Columbia have laws that are meant to discourage faithless electors. Until 2016, however, no state had ever actually punished or removed an elector because of his or her vote.

“Today, we consider whether a State may also penalize an elector for breaking his pledge and voting for someone other than the presidential candidate who won his State’s popular vote. We hold that a State may do so,” Justice Elena Kagan wrote in her decision.
“The Constitution’s text and the Nation’s history both support allowing a State to enforce an elector’s pledge to support his party’s nominee – and the state voters’ choice – for President,” she added.
A group of Democratic electors that called themselves the “Hamilton Electors” voted for moderate Republicans instead of Hillary Clinton in 2016, in an unsuccessful effort to convince Republican electors to vote for somebody besides President Trump.
WIBC host Tony Katz commented on the ruling Monday morning:
“I’m actually surprised and fascinated by this ruling because I would have bet money on the idea that the elector has rights and could, therefore, have reasoned for making changes.
“The faithless elector conversation is done, and this comes just prior to the 2020 election. This ruling could have major implications in November if we see a repeat of 2016 when all the votes are tallied.”

Click below to hear Tony’s full commentary.

(Photo by Lev Radin/Pacific Press/LightRocket via Getty Images)