Listen Live

(SOPA Images/Getty Images)

Colorado has now officially joined 11 states and the District of Columbia as part of the National Popular Vote Interstate Compact – a system that awards the state’s Electoral College votes to the presidential candidate who wins the national popular vote.

Colorado Gov. Jared Polis (D) signed the bill into law on Friday.

“It is important to understand that the National Popular Vote bill significantly amplifies Colorado’s voice in choosing the president of the United States,” John Koza, chairman of National Popular Vote, said in a press release.

The ‘good news’ is that the joint agreement only goes into effect if enough states sign on to total the number needed to win the presidency — 270 electoral votes. The ‘bad news’ is that the addition of Colorado’s nine electoral votes brings that total to 181.

President Trump won the 2016 election with 304 electoral votes compared to 227 for Hillary Clinton; however, Clinton edged out Trump in the national popular vote by nearly 3 million votes, which in turn caused democrats to lose their minds and fueled the longest partisan temper tantrum in American history.

WIBC host Tony Katz discussed Colorado’s addition to the National Popular Vote Interstate Compact on Monday. Click below to check it out.