Listen Live

INDIANAPOLIS — The purse this year for the Indianapolis 500 was the largest it’s ever been, and Marcus Ericsson is seeing a huge chunk of it.

For winning the Indianapolis 500, Ericsson has been awarded $3.1 million at last night’s Victory Banquet, of a total purse of over 16-million.

“The Indianapolis 500 is the greatest race in the world, and these drivers lay it all on the line for a chance to drink the winner’s milk and kiss the famous Yard of Bricks,” Roger Penske said. “This year’s record-setting purse is reflective of their tireless pursuit of history and the world-class talent they display on every lap.”

Pato O’Ward took home $1 million, which is the largest payout ever given to a driver finishing second.

Despite his 28th place finish, Jimmie Johnson was named Indy 500 Rookie of the Year and was awarded nearly 228-thousand-dollars.

The 325,000 fans in attendance on Sunday made this year’s race the largest-attended single-day sporting event in the world since the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic.