Listen Live

(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – Residents of Bloomington, Madison and the surrounding area are eligible for federal disaster loans for damage from last month’s floods.

The Small Business Administration has approved a disaster declaration for 13 southern Indiana counties from Martinsville to the Kentucky border. The SBA will open temporary outreach centers in Bloomington and Madison on Friday to help businesses, homeowners and nonprofits with the application process.

Only Monroe and Jefferson Counties are eligible for aid to cover physical damage. Those applications are due by September 7. Those counties and 11 neighboring ones have seven months after that to seek loans to cover economic losses.

Along with Monroe and Jefferson Counties, the disaster declaration covers Morgan, Brown, Clark, Greene, Jackson, Jennings, Lawrence, Owen, Ripley, Scott and Switzerland Counties, plus two counties in northern Kentucky.

The outreach centers will be open through next Friday.