Listen Live

WASHINGTON — The Senate on Tuesday confirmed Indiana native Pete Buttigieg to lead the U.S. Department of Transportation.
Buttigieg, the former mayor of South Bend, Ind., was confirmed in an 86-13 vote. Indiana Senators Todd Young and Mike Braun both voted to confirm Buttigieg.
Buttigieg is the 19th Transportation Secretary and the fifth member of Pres. Biden’s cabinet to be confirmed. He is also the first openly gay Senate-confirmed cabinet member in U.S. history.